Our Lady of the Sea Shrine – The tomb of the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub

On May 3, 1923, Our Lady of the Sea Church – Jal El Dib was inaugurated for the intent of the Lebanese who immigrated seeking to make a living. This intense immigration caused a deep pain in the spirit of “Abouna Yaacoub”. The Sisters of the Cross Congregation celebrated the day of Our Lady of the Sea on this date of every year putting all the Lebanese people spread in the four corners of the world under the protection of Our Lady of the Sea.

On September 3, 1927, Abouna Yaccoub’s precious wish came true, and a cross of iron was erected on the church with the crucifix on it, reaching 10 meters in height, in a majestic ceremony with the participation of thousands of believers.

The center turned into a small convent which included a number of sick and disabled priests and today it includes Our Lady of the Sea Church and the tomb and museum of the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub within a large compound known as the Convent of the Cross, the very start of the Sisters of the Cross Congregation.

In the heart of the church-shrine we find the statue of Our Lady of the Sea which was purchased by Abouna Yaacoub, symbolizing Virgin Mary holding baby Jesus and at her feet a boat with travelers. Abouna Yaacoub wanted to put those travelers under her protection so that she could bring them back to their homeland safely. For this intent he wrote many prayers and hymns.

The church also includes an oil painting for the mediator of the shrine, Our Lady of the Sea, faced by an oil painting specifically drawn for the occasion of beatification of Abouna Yaacoub in 2008. In its dimensions, the painting expresses the purpose of the Sisters of the Cross Congregation, which is to take care of priests, mentally and psychically disabled patients, the elderly, the marginalized and blind people, orphans and children.

To the right of the altar we find a relic of the bones of the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub.

Inside the shrine and to the right of the entrance, we find the tomb of the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub in a space filled with reverence which silence is only broken by soft music which helps the visitor in quiet meditation and prayer and listening to the heavens whispering.

The rooms surrounding the southern sides of the church contain the wooden coffin which held the remains of Abouna Yaacoub when he died in 1954, the water pots in which the doctors washed the bones of the Blessed and the clothes and tools used on the day of inspecting his body. The closets of these rooms contain the certificates and medals of the Blessed.

As for the second floor, which was transformed into a precious museum for the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub on the occasion of his beatification, it includes his own library, bedroom, special accessories and tools he used, his liturgical clothes, holy pots and his rosary which never left his hand as his fingers wore away its wooden cross.

When exiting the shrine, the visitor makes a stop in front of a bronze statue for the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub, an exposition for souvenirs, prints and publications. And if he wanted to light candles and announced intentions, there is a place specially dedicated for such purpose.

The visitor may visit the sanctuary of the Convent of the Cross with its wide spaces, the Cross overlooking the mountain and coast, the Golgotha Church built by Abouna Yaacoub and which held his body for many years. The visitor can also get acquainted with the unique humanitarian mission undertaken by the Hospital of the Cross for mental and psychological illness in Lebanon and the Middle East. This hospital contains 1,000 beds and receives all patients of any doctrine, as a proof of the credibility of the Blessed Abouna Yacoub in what he used to say: “My sect is Lebanon and people in pain”. Thousands of Lebanese residents and expatriates visit the shrine either to ask for the intercession of Abouna Yacoub, either to pray at the cross and in front of Our Lady of the Sea, or to seek blessing from the holy place.

مزار سيّدة البحر – ضريح الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب

في 03 أيّار 1923، تمّ تدشين كنيسة سيّدة البحر – جَلّ الديب، على نيّة اللبنانيّين، الذين هاجروا سعيًا وراء رزقهم. وقد سبّبت هذه الهجرة الكثيفة ألمًا عميقًا في نفس “أبونا يعقوب”. وبقيت جمعيّة راهبات الصليب تحتفل بعيد سيّدة البحر، في هذا التاريخ من كلّ عام، واضعةً تحت حماية العذراء سيّدة البحر جميع اللبنانيّين المنتشرين في أربعة أقطار العالم.

وفي 03 أيلول 1927، تحقّقت أمنية أبونا يعقوب الغالية، فرُفع فوق الكنيسة صليبٌ من حديد، عليه المصلوب، علوّه 10 أمتار، باحتفال مهيب شارك فيه آلاف المؤمنين.

تحوّل المركز إلى دير صغير ضمّ عددًا من الكهنة المرضى والعاجزين. واليوم يضمّ كنيسة سيّدة البحر وضريح الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب ومتحفه، في قلب مجمّع ضخم يُعرَف باسم دير الصليب، وهو مهد تأسيس جمعيّة راهبات الصليب.

يتوسّط الكنيسة – المزار تمثال سيّدة البحر اشتراه أبونا يعقوب، وهو يرمز إلى السيّدة العذراء حاملة الطفل يسوع، وعند قدمَيها مركب يحمل أناسًا مسافرين. وقد شاء أبونا يعقوب أن يضع هؤلاء المسافرين في حمايتها لتردّهم إلى بلادهم سالمين، وألّف على هذه النيّة عددًا من الصلوات والترانيم.

وتضمّ الكنيسة لوحة زيتيّة لشفيعة المزار سيّدة البحر، تقابلها لوحة زيتيّة رُسمت خصّيصًا لمناسبة تطويب أبونا يعقوب في العام 2008، تعبّر في أبعادها عن غاية جمعيّة راهبات الصليب وهي العناية بالكهنة، الاهتمام بالمرضى العقليّين والنفسيّين، وبالعجزة، وبالمهمّشين والعميان، والأيتام والأولاد.

وإلى يمين المذبح ذخيرة من عظام الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب.

داخل المزار، إلى يمين المدخل، يوجد ضريح الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب في فسحة ملؤها الخشوع، تخرق صمتها موسيقى ناعمة تساعد الزائر على التأمّل والصلاة، وعلى الصمت والإصغاء إلى همس السّماء.

أمّا الغرف التي تزنّر جنوبيّ الكنيسة، فتحتوي على النعش الخشبيّ الذي ضمّ رفات أبونا يعقوب عند مماته في العام 1954، وعلى أوعية الماء الذي غسل بها الأطبّاء عظام الطوباويّ، وعلى الثياب والأدوات التي استُخدمت يوم الكشف على جثمانه. كما تضمّ خزائنها شهادات وأوسمة خاصَّة بالطوباويّ.

أمَّا الطابق الثاني الذي تحوّل لمناسبة التطويب إلى متحف ثمين خاصّ بالطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب، فيضمّ مكتبته الشخصيّة وغرفة نومه، ولوازمه الخاصّة والأدوات التي كان يستخدمها، وملابس ليتورجيّة وأواني مقدّسة، ومسبحته التي لم تكن تفارقه وقد برت أنامِلُهُ صليبَها الخشبيّ.

لدى الخروج من المزار، يتوقّف الزائر أمام تمثال برونزيّ للطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب، ومعرض للتذكارات والمطبوعات والمنشورات. وإذا رغب بإضاءة الشموع وإعلان النوايا، فهناك مكانٌ استُحدِث خصّيصًا لذلك.

يجوب الزائر حرم دير الصليب بساحاته الفسيحة، ويزور الصليب المطلّ على الجبل والساحل، وكنيسة الجلجلة التي بناها وقد ضمّت جثمانه لعدّة سنوات. كما يمكنه التعرّف إلى المهمّة الإنسانيّة الفريدة التي يقوم بها مستشفى الصليب للأمراض العقليّة والنفسيّة في لبنان والشرق الأوسط، ويحتوي هذا المستشفى على 1000 سرير؛ يستقبل جميع المرضى إلى أيّ مذهب انتموا، برهانًا على مصداقيّة أبونا يعقوب في ما كان يقول: “طائفتي لبنان والمتألّمون”.

يؤمّ المزار آلاف الزوّار من لبنانيّين مقيمين ومغتربين، إمّا لطلب شفاعة أبونا يعقوب، وإمّا للصلاة عند الصليب وأمام العذراء سيّدة البحر، وإمّا للتبرّك من المكان المقدّس.