The Shrine of Deir el Qamar Cross

The hill of Deir el Qamar Cross is a historical one, rich in monuments and landmarks, located around a thousand meters above sea level with a distance of about 85 km away from Beirut. The hill overlooks the sea and most of Lebanon’s mountainous and coastal villages in Shouf and Metn areas. The hill used to be called Tyre Citadel, perhaps because it overlooks Tyre city.

After the Cross was erected on our Lady of the Sea Church – Jal El Dib in 1927, Abouna Yaacoub wanted to put up another Cross on a high mound in Deir el Qamar, which is one of the most magnificent mounds in Lebanon…

The idea occurred to Abouna Yaacoub in 1929, after he discovered a burial ground where martyrs of the 1860 massacres were buried, because he wanted to construct a cross memorial in memory of these martyrs.

After obtaining permission from his superiors, and after donations were provided, Abouna Yaacoub began work on the summit above a piece of land with an area of around eight thousand square meters offered by Bishop Boustany, Pastor of Sidon and Deir el Qamar at the time. Work was completed in the summer of 1932, and the road was paved from Deir el Qamar to the shrine, which was inaugurated in September 13 of the same year in a majestic ceremony attended by around ten thousand people coming from everywhere, praying and glorifying the Lord… In that day, Abouna Yaacoub wished that the Cross day will become a national holiday for all the Lebanese…

Today, after being restored as a result of what happened to it because of the latest wars and the flow of armies on this strategic hill, the shrine has become a base of cement with a geometric shape of four inclined pillars interconnected with semi-arches of a height of eight meters, on top of which rises an iron Cross of ten meters holding the crucifix from a French making. The face of the crucifix is oriented to the brotherly towns of Druze, to the town of Baaqline in particular, as if it is calling its residents and the neighborhood to love, be united and live in the heart of the Mount like in the heart of God.

The shrine, Cross and base, is electrically lighted, and gazers at night see it like a radioactive mass as if it is a star hanging in the sky.

Surrounding the shrine, and on the outskirts of the yard in particular, we find the stages of the fourteen stations of the Cross, which need to be renovated today, and the Congregation is preparing a study for the rehabilitation of the hill.

To the south, lies the church, which bore the name of Abouna Yaacoub, following his beatification in 2008, which is an old cellar with a length of around thirty meters and a width of about five meters, that was in the past warehouses for supplies and water, used by Saint Francis Order for Laymen as a place to rest during their long nights of meditation.

Three major celebrations take part annually at the shrine including masses and processions, which are February 1, the anniversary of the birth of the Blessed Abouna Yaacoub; June 26, the anniversary of his death; and the eve of September 13, the Ascension of the Holy Cross.

In these three occasions, thousands of believers and participants flock from the region and the neighborhood to take part in the event, just as one day Abouna Yaacoub wished that raising Deir el Qamar Cross will revive the spirit of faith in the hearts of Christians of these regions.

مزار صليب دير القمر

تلّة صليب دير القمر تلّة تاريخيّة، غنيّة بآثارها ومعالمها، ترتفع عن البحر نحو ألف متر، وتبعد عن بيروت حوالي 85 كلم. تُشرف على البحر وعلى أكثر قرى لبنان الساحليّة والجبليّة في الشوف والمتن، كانت تدعى في الماضي قلعة صور، ربّما لأنّ النظر يمتدّ منها إلى مدينة صور.

بعد ان ارتفع الصليب فوق كنيسة سيّدة البحر في جلّ الديب سنة 1927، أراد أبونا يعقوب أن يرفع صليبًا آخر على رابية عالية من روابي بلدة دير القمر الشوفيّة، تُعتبر واحدة من أبهى روابي لبنان…

راودت الفكرة ذهن أبونا يعقوب في العام 1929، بعد أن اكتشف مقبرة تعود لشهداء مذابح 1860، إذ أراد أن يقيم نصبًا تذكاريًّا يعلوه صليب، تخليدًا لذكرى هؤلاء الشّهداء.

وبعد الحصول على إذن من رؤسائه، وبعد توفّر التبرّعات، باشر العمل على القمّة، فوق قطعة أرض تبلغ مساحتها نحوًا من ثمانية آلاف متر مربّع وقفها له المطران بستاني، راعي أبرشيّة صيدا ودير القمر في حينه.

في صيف 1932، انتهى العمل، وشُقّت الطريق من دير القمر إلى المزار الذي تمّ تدشينه في 13 أيلول من العام عينه في احتفال مهيب شارك فيه نحو عشرة آلاف شخص وفدوا من كلّ مكان، مصلّين ممجّدين الربّ… ويومها تمنّى أبونا يعقوب أن يصبح عيد الصليب عيدًا وطنيًّا لكلّ اللبنانيّين…

المزار اليوم، وبعد أن أعيد ترميمه من جرّاء ما حلّ به بفعل الحروب الأخيرة وتعاقب الجيوش على هذه التلّة الاستراتيجيّة، هو عبارة عن قاعدة من الإسمنت ذات شكل هندسيّ من أربع قوائم مائلة، مترابطة بما يشبه القناطر، بعلوّ ثمانية أمتار، يرتفع فوق سطحها صليب حديديّ من عشرة أمتار، وعليه مصلوبٌ من صنع فرنسيّ. وجه المصلوب مصوَّب إلى بلدات الإخوة الدروز، إلى بلدة بعقلين تحديدًا، وكأنّه يدعو أهلها والجوار إلى المحبّة والاتّحاد والعيش في قلب الجبل كما في قلب الله.

المزار، الصليب والقاعدة، مضاءٌ بالإنارة الكهربائيّة، يراه الناظرون ليلاً كتلة مشعّةً وكأنّه نجم معلّق في السّماء. تحيط بالمزار وعلى أطراف الساحة تحديدًا، مراحل درب الصليب الأربع عشرة، وهي اليوم تحتاج إلى ترميم، والجمعيّة بصدد إعداد دراسة لتأهيل التلّة.

لجهة الجنوب، تقع الكنيسة التي حملت اسم أبونا يعقوب إثر تطويبه في العام 2008، وهي عبارة عن قبو قديم بطول ثلاثين مترًا تقريبًا، وعرض حوالي خمسة أمتار، كانت في الماضي مستودعات للمؤن وللمياه، تستخدمها رهبنة مار فرنسيس للعلمانيّين مكانًا للراحة في ليالي تأمّلاتهم الطويلة.

يشهد المزار ثلاثة احتفالات كبرى سنويًّا تتخلّلها قدّاسات وزيّاحات، وهي في الأوّل من شباط من كلّ عام، ذكرى مولد الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب؛ وفي 26 حزيران من كلّ عام، ذكرى وفاته؛ ومساء 13 أيلول من كلّ عام، عيد ارتفاع الصليب المقدّس.

في هذه المناسبات الثلاث، يتقاطر المؤمنون والمشاركون بالآلاف من المنطقة والجوار، ليكونوا في قلب الحدث والمناسبة، تمامًا كما تمنّى أبونا يعقوب يومًا في أن يكون رفع صليب دير القمر إحياءً لروح الإيمان في قلوبِ مسيحيّي هذه الأنحاء.