The Beatification

With the beatification of Abouna Yaacoub, the ecclesiastical authority has renewed its trust in our Congregation, the Congregation of the Franciscan Sisters of the Cross, by inviting and urges us to work hard in the heart of our mother church, and to meet the needs of our country and Diaspora countries.
After joy filled our hearts with the sentiments of transfiguration during two big events which are the jubilee and the beatification, we are obliged today to reinvent and regain our strength, to draw a path to our association, which coincides with the rapid development of the world and the church; we preserve the spiritual legacy that Abouna Yaacoub left us with a spiritual view towards our future, through the guidance of our mother church.
The beatification of our founder will always remain a motive for us to move forward, with steady paces, from beatification into sanctification, if God wills it, and sanctity will remain the ultimate goal for all our work, because “God’s will is our sanctity” (1 Tess 4/3). We hope to work for the kingdom, and continue with the path that has been set to us by Abouna Yaacoub so that we can be cherished and cherish the people around us, so that his path can keep on living inside of us and we can make it live in others.

Beatification event:

On the 22nd of June 2008, thousands of Lebanese gathered since the early hours of the morning, to participate in the mass which declares Abouna Yaacoub Al-Haddad Capuchin as being a Saint, who will be added to the list of Saints in Lebanon. During a grand ceremony in the martyrs square in Beirut, it was the first time such event takes place outside the capital of the Vatican. As for his Holiness Pope Benedict XVI, he was represented, in Lebanon, by the prefect of the congregation of Saints, Cardinal Jose Saraïva Martins, to head the mass of beatification, with the participation of His Beatitude and Eminence Cardinal Mar Nasrallah Boutros Sfeir, Patriarch of Antioch and the Whole Levant, and Monsignor Antonio Maria Vilio, the secretary of the Congregation for Eastern Churches, His Excellency the Apostolic nuncio in Lebanon, Monsignor Luigi Gatti, Archbishop Boulos Dahdah Vicar Apostolic of the Latins in Lebanon, Father Mauro Johri General Superior of the Capuchins in the world, Tanios Rizk regional superior in Lebanon and in the East for the minor Capuchins Brothers, along with a group of patriarchs and bishops of the Maronite Church and the heads of other Churches in Lebanon.
The Lebanese president Michel Sleiman along with his wife, Mrs. Wafaa, also participated in the celebrations, as well as the president of parliament Nabih Berri, Prime Minister Fouad Siniora and his wife, Mrs. Huda, and other political, official, military and administrative figures.
At the beginning of the celebrations, Father Salim Rizkallah Capuchin read a summary about the life of Abouna Yaacoub. After that, Cardinal Martins read the papal letter that announces the Sanctity of Abouna Yaacoub, which read like this: “We, the archbishops of Aryan in Numidia, at the honorable behest of our brother Boulos Dahdah, Vicar Apostolic of the Latins in Lebanon, and also at the behest of many others of our brothers in the Episcopate, and several believers, after considering the opinion of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints, and with our apostolic authority, we grant the blessed grace, from this day forward, to the servant of God Yaacoub Al-Ghaziri, a professed priest in the convent for minor Capuchins brothers, and founder of the sisters of the cross Congregation, who spent his life as a good Samaritan, helping the sick and the unfortunate. The following is applied in all places and according to the measures of the legal right. A celebration takes place every year for his birthday, on the 26th of June, the day of his birth in the heavens, in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, Amen”.
Then, the curtain was drawn over the picture which was adopted as the official picture of the new Blessed.
After the Holy Bible, Patriarch Sfeir delivered a sermon entitled: “Then the righteous shine like the sun in the kingdom of God”.
As for the Eucharist offering, it invoked all that Abouna Yaacoub has achieved and offered.
At the end of the mass, the president of the minor brothers gave a speech in which he expressed his happiness for participating in this celebration.
Sister Mary Makhlouf, the General Superior of the Sisters of the Cross Congregation, concluded the ceremony with a renewed promise to Abouna Yaacoub, a promise to continue the path on the road of the cross, and a promise to the officials and the people that the sisters will serve and will remain attentive, under the mercy of God and the intercession of Abouna Yaacoub so that Lebanon will remain the country of holiness, mission, freedom and peace.

Speech of His Beatitude and Eminence Cardinal Mar Nasrallah Boutros Sfeir

Speech of Sister Mary Makhlouf, the General Superior of the Congregation of the Sisters of the Cross

The Miracle of Beatification:
After a three year study concerning the healing of Mrs. Mary Kattan of Maghdouche, who suffered from cancer, it was agreed upon in Lebanon and also in the Congregation for the Causes of Saints in Rome, that the healing carried the feel of a miracle. It happened by virtue of the prayers of her brother’s son, residing in Canada. The miracle was studied in Lebanon, under the ecclesiastical court, which listened to different witnesses, and was transferred to the Congregation for the Causes of Saints in Rome. In this congregation, the medical and the theological committees, as well as all the cardinals united, all agreed that the healing was not scientifically proven. All these stages were topped by the ratification of His Holiness Pope Benedict XVI of the miracle, on the 17th of December 2007.

التطويب

بتطويب أبونا يعقوب، جدّدَت السلطة الكنسيّة ثقتها بجمعيّتنا، جمعيّة راهبات الصليب داعيةً إيّانا بإلحاح إلى العمل الدؤوب في قلب الكنيسة الأمّ، وإلى تلبية حاجات وطننا وبلاد الانتشار.

فبعد أن عمّ الفرح قلوبنا بمشاعر التجلّي في محطّتين كبيرتَين هما اليوبيل والتطويب، نحن ملزمات اليوم أن نتجدّد ونستعيد قوانا لنخطّ لجمعيّتنا مسارًا يتلاءم مع ما يسيّر العالم والكنيسة من تطوّر سريع، ونبقى محافظات على الإرث الروحيّ الذي تركه لنا أبونا يعقوب، بإطلالة إيمان على مستقبلنا من خلال توجيهات أمّنا الكنيسة.

وسوف يظلّ حدث تطويب مؤسّسنا حافزًا لنا للسير قُدُمًا وبخطى ثابتة، من التطويب إلى التقديس، إن شاء الربّ، وتبقى القداسة الهدف الأسمى لجميع أعمالنا، لأنّ “مشيئة الله إنّما هي تقديسنا” (1 تس 4/3). حسبنا أن نعمل للملكوت، ونواصل الدرب التي خطّها لنا أبونا يعقوب حتّى نتقدّس ونقدّس مَن هم حولنا، لكي يستمرّ نهجه حيًّا فينا ونُـحييه في الآخرين.

حدث التطويب:

في 22 حزيران 2008، توافد مئات الآلاف من اللبنانيّين منذ ساعات الصباح الأولى، للمشاركة في الذبيحة الإلهيّة لإعلان أبونا يعقوب الحدّاد الكبّوشيّ طوباويًّا جديدًا يُضاف إلى لائحة القدّيسين في لبنان، في احتفال مهيب أقيم في ساحة الشهداء في بيروت، وهذه هي المرّة الأولى التي يتمّ فيها مثل هذا الحدث خارج حاضرة الـﭭـاتيكان؛ وقد أوفد قداسة البابا بنديكتوس السادس عشر إلى لبنان ممثّلاً عنه، رئيس مجمع دعاوى القدّيسين، الكاردينال خوسيه سارايـﭭـا مارتينس ليترأّس قدّاس التطويب، بمشاركة صاحب الغبطة والنيافة الكاردينال مار نصر الله بطرس صفير بطريرك أنطاكية وسائر المشرق، والمونسنيور أنطونيو ماريّا ﭬـيليو أمين سرّ مجمع الكنائس الشرقيّة، وسعادة السفير البابويّ في لبنان المونسنيور لويدجي غاتّي، والمطران بولس دحدح رئيس طائفة اللاّتين في لبنان، والأب ماورو دجوري الرئيس العام في العالم، والأب طانيوس رزق الرئيس الإقليمي في لبنان والشرق للإخوة الأصاغر الكبّوشيّين. إلى جانب لفيف من البطاركة وأساقفة الكنيسة المارونيّة ورؤساء سائر الكنائس في لبنان.

كما شارك في الاحتفال فخامة رئيس الجمهوريّة اللبنانيّة العماد ميشال سليمان وعقيلته السيّدة وفاء، رئيس مجلس النوّاب الأستاذ نبيه برّي، رئيس مجلس الوزراء الأستاذ فؤاد السنيورة وعقيلته السيّدة هدى، وشخصيّات سياسيّة ورسميّة وعسكريّة وإداريّة.

في بداية الاحتفال، ألقى الأب سليم رزق الله الكبّوشي ملخّصًا عن حياة الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب. بعد ذلك، تلا الكاردينال مارتنس الرسالة البابويّة لإعلان أبونا يعقوب طوباويًّا، وقد جاء فيها: “نحن، نزولاً عند رغبة أخينا بولس دحدح أساقفة أريه في نوميديا شرفًا والنائب الرسولي في بيروت للاتين، وعند رغبة كثيرين من إخوتنا في الأسقفيّة ومؤمنين عدّة، بعد أن اطّلعنا على رأي مجمع دعاوى القدّيسين، وبسلطتنا الرسوليّة، نمنح نعمة الطوباويّة من الآن وصاعدًا خادم الله يعقوب الغزيري، كاهن ناذر في رهبنة الإخوة الأصاغر الكبّوشيّين، مؤسّس جمعيّة راهبات الصليب، الذي قضى حياته كالسامري الصالح في مساعدة البؤساء والمرضى. يُعمَل بذلك في الأماكن ووفق تدابير الحقّ القانونيّ، ويُحتفَل بعيده كلّ سنة في 26 حزيران يوم ولادته في السماء، باسم الآب والابن والروح القدس، آمين”.

ثمّ أُزيحَت الستارة عن الصورة الرسميّة التي تمّ اعتمادها كصورة رسميّة للطوباويّ الجديد.

بعد الإنجيل المقدّس، ألقى غبطة البطريرك صفير عظة بعنوان: “حينئذٍ يسطع الأبرار كالشمس في ملكوت الله”.

أمّا تقدمة القرابين، فكانت جميعها وفاءً لكلّ ما عمل وقدّم الطوباويّ أبونا يعقوب.

في ختام الذبيحة الإلهيّة، كانت كلمة لرئيس الإخوة الأصاغر، عبّر فيها عن سروره بالمشاركة في هذا الاحتفال.

كلمة الختام كانت للأم ماري مخلوف، الرئيسة العامّة لجمعيّة راهبات الصليب، جدّدت فيها العهد لأبونا يعقوب، عهدًا بمتابعة المسيرة على طريق الصليب، ووعدًا للمسؤولين والمواطنين بأن تبقى الراهبات خادمات ساهرات، ضارعةً إلى الله بشفاعة أبونا يعقوب كي يبقى لبنان وطن القداسة والرسالة والحرّيّة والسلام.

كلمة صاحب الغبطة والنيافة الكاردينال مار نصر الله بطرس صفير

كلمة الأخت ماري مخلوف الرئيسة العامّة لجمعيّة راهبات الصليب

أعجوبة التطويب

بعد دراسة دامت أكثر من ثلاث سنوات لشفاء السيّدة ماري قطّان من مغدوشة، وكانت مُصابة بداء السرطان، تمّ الإجماع في لبنان وكذلك في مجمع دعاوى القدّيسين في روما، على أنّ الشفاء يحمل طابع الأعجوبة؛ وقد حصلت بفضل صلوات ابن شقيقها المقيم في كندا. دُرست الأعجوبة في لبنان بموجب محكمة كنسيّة استمعت إلى مختلف الشهود، وأُحيلَت إلى مجمع دعاوى القدّيسين في روما، حيث أقرّت اللجنة الطبّيّة، واللجنة اللاهوتيّة، ومجمع الكرادلة بالإجماع على أنّ الشفاء غير مبرّر علميًّا. تُوِّجت كلّ هذه المراحل بتصديق قداسة البابا بنديكتوس السادس عشر على الأعجوبة، بتاريخ 17 كانون الأوّل 2007.